New
Find
Notify
Tools

Vihtavuori powder for 223?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am thinking of trying some Vihtavuori powder for .223, going to shoot paper for accuracy. Will be shooting 52 to 69 grain bullets. Has anyone had good results with N133 or N135? Load recommendations that work for you would be great. jb

Posts: 411 | Location: Smack, in the middle of Oklahoma | Registered: 18 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
jb,
I have 3 .223 AI, all with match grade barrels, etc, etc....I've tried N-133 and N-135....They are both sensitive to temparature changes..I've been shooting these rifles since 1995 and I believe that the best powders for the .223 in the weight range that you mentioned are: Hodgdon "Benckmark" which is an EXTREME (read that STABLE) powder...It is excellent and has, in my opinion, the perfect burn rate for the .223..... Hodgdon 335 is a close second but is not an EXTREME powder....It is great for warm to hot weather but not good n very cold temps. If can help in any way, let me know....George

Posts: 142 | Location: Jaccksonville, N. C. | Registered: 10 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
George, I also listed this post over in AR/Benchrest shooting and both of you suggested Hodgson powders. I shoot Varget (which shoots very well) and was wanting to try something a little different. Both of you suggested H335 and you suggested Benchmark which I have thought about trying before. Sounds like Hodgson might be the place to stay. Thanks for the help. Vihtavuori only comes in 2 lb containers and I don't want that much to try a new powder if no one is bragging about it.

Posts: 411 | Location: Smack, in the middle of Oklahoma | Registered: 18 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post