New
Find
Notify
Tools

90 % prairie dogs
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
What range will include 90% of all prairie dog shots ?

Know we can specialize on only long shots, but if we take all the short range shots offered, at what distance will we take 90% of the dogs ?

In the past have sighted-in too high thinking about the long shots, then had to hold low for way too many shots.

Hammer

Posts: 1003 | Registered: 01 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of mt Al
posted Hide Post
It depends a great deal on how often the rats are shot at, available cover, shooter concealment, etc. However, I offer the following non-scientific breakdown for the recreational shooter:

0-100 = 60%

100-150 = 20%

150-200 = 10%

200+ = 10% (if even that)

I'm no pro, but I zero my .223 for 200 yards.

Posts: 1072 | Location: Bozeman, MT | Registered: 21 October 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Where I've been shooting them, 95% of my shots are under 200yds.

On the trip I just returned from, almost all my shots were under 150yds., and I only used my .17HMR.

George

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hammer: As one of the previous posters mentioned "it depends on how often the Prairie Dogs are shot over"! This will determine how close a Hunter can get to these Varmints. I have shot over well populated towns when a 200 yard full body out shot was rare! And 300 yard partial body shots were the norm.
I prefer to Hunt my remote and secret (seldom shot over) smaller towns. Where full body out shots are the norm and the quarry less wary! Even at these spots I choose to shoot only at ranges from 200 yards to 550 yards with my centerfires. And as of last year I would shoot the closer in PD's with my 17 HMR. Using it on the Varmints from 100 out to 200 yards.
Again these are my choices and I leave the real close in ones for seed.