Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.243 for yote and bobcat
 Login/Join

posted
I live in southeastern Kansas and we have a bad problem with yotes here. I hunt on 800 acres on the Kansas/Oklahoma border. No one here likes to trap or hunt the yotes or bobcats here. We have way too many of both. My questions are as follows:

No one here has tried to hunt them using calls. Is this a good idea or not? if so, what call to use? Is my .243 ok to hun them both? If so, at what yardage and with what grain bullet? I have been looking at the 55 grain BT. I am totally new to this and think that it will be a whole lot of fun. I hunt deer with a 7 mag and just have a .243 laying around collecting dust. Please help, thanks.

Posts: 8 | Location: Wichita,KS | Registered: 16 December 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Rhett,

Use the .243 if it fits you and shoots well.The 55g BT Bullets are great,but really any good varmint bullet from 55-80g in a .243 works well.I tend to go with what the gun shoots most acurately as I think at least a rifle that shoots consistley at 1" or under three shoit groups at 100 yards is required(predators ARE smaller than deer).

Some .243s can be pretty picky in terms of the bullet weights they like.If you don't reload,I have had good luck with the 75g HP Hornady Factory ammo ,it shoots flat and accurate in every rifle I have tried it in.

As to calling, both mouth and electronic callers work well.The best thing to do is get hooked up with someone with a bit of calling experience,take them along and let them "show you the ropes"(if the land owners will let you hunt with a "guest along").

I called in Coyotes for most of the 1980's(while I should have been studying in college ) A former US Govt.ADC (animal damage control) trapper tought me whenb I was a teenager.Like most hunting ,it's simply best for someone to SHOW you.Once you learn/see how you should aproach it,your success rate goes up quite a bit.