New
Find
Notify
Tools

Knife Throwing...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Are there any knife throwers out there that could give me a few pointers, no pun intended? I've been throwing knives for about two years now but I can only hit consistantly for a distance of 20', beyond that, it's all luck. I'm better with an axe.
I was wondering if it is really possible to throw a knife perfectly straight and paralell to the ground? You know, without spinning revolutions? If so, could someone please let me in on this little secret?
I throw a couple of homemade knives with ground to spear points. The spear point is my favorite style of throwing knife tip. Each knife has thin birch scales with brass rivits. What does the rest of Accurate Reloading throw?

Arctic Gun

Posts: 91 | Location: North of sixty | Registered: 23 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I used to throw knives when I was a teenager. I never got beyond about 20 feet either. I do notice the knife throwers at fairs spin their knives also. I've never seen one fly straight.

the chef

one of us
posted Hide Post
Your range with a knife is the distance it takes it to turn round and hit point first.
If you want to vary the range you need to throw different balanced knives for the various ranges.

"When doing battle, seek a quick victory."

Posts: 4739 | Location: London England | Registered: 11 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of juanpozzi
posted Hide Post
First use only throwing knives ,second never throws your knife in a combat situtation .JUAN

www.huntinginargentina.com.ar FULL PROFESSIONAL MEMBER OF IPHA INTERNATIONAL PROFESSIONAL HUNTERS ASOCIATION .
DSC PROFESSIONAL MEMBER
DRSS--SCI
NRA
IDPA
IPSC-FAT -argentine shooting federation cred number2-

Posts: 6362 | Location: Cordoba argentina | Registered: 26 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Good advise Juan...As bad as throwing a gun away during a fight!!

The chef

One of Us
Picture of Collins
posted Hide Post