Find
Notify
Tools

7mm Rem Mag.
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of acsteele
posted
I am new to the 7Mag, but I found an awesome shooter. This is out of a Savage 110, and is listed as max. 140gr. Nosler BT's, once fired Rem brass, Win. mag primers, and 60.2 grains of H414. Out of a skinny barrel, I got 4 shots in a 1" paster (5th was about 1/4 out, but it was windy, and my shoulder was feeling like hamburger)
Now, the same ingredients, but with 56gr. of H414 spit 'em all over the place.
What gives? I was under the impression a little bit lower load usually gives better accuracy.
It also likes 160 Partitions, so an Elk hunt ain't far away!

Posts: 609 | Location: South-central KS | Registered: 22 September 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I think most of the ball powders like to be loaded up to work better. At least, that's my experiance. BM

Bill

PS: For the 140's, you may want to give RL-19 a try or RL-22 for heavier bullets.

Posts: 128 | Location: Hensley, AR | Registered: 05 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I would try RL22 or H4831 SC in the 7mm Mag. Don't believe the hype about light loads shooting better, some will some won't. A good many of the hot rounds like a .220 swift seem to shoot best when right on the ragged edge of being too hot. I would think H414 is quite a bit too fast burning for the Big 7, works better in 7x57,.243, .30-06 sized cases. I am not a real fan of 140's anyway, a 150-160 grain bullet is the all-round load, 175 partitions for elk, etc.

Posts: 2788 | Location: gallatin, mo usa | Registered: 10 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post