Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.375-338 Lapua Login/Join

<KilgoreT>
posted
Has anyone experienced this spinoff yet? I'm looking into the Barrett 98, Dakota T-76 Longbow, and SAKO TRG-41. I'm new to big bores but like the concept. Wby. and Rem. ltra Mag. do not turn me on.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Would be virtually a beltless 378 wby.

Posts: 2045 | Location: West most midwestern town. | Registered: 13 June 2001Reply With Quote
<KilgoreT>
posted
375 Wby to 378 Wby is my guide. 300 gr. @ 3,000 f/s is my "estimate" without being able to measure pressure. I'd like to keep bench experimentation to a minimum so if anyone has already been there I'd appreciate their wisdom. I'll have bought Lapua brass in bulk and have a bias toward the beltless case.

<R. A. Berry>
posted
KilgoreT,
That is the highest quality brass around. Strongest and most uniform. It should make a more accurate and better feeding .375 wildcat than any other in existence. I toyed with the idea on this site once and suggested the name "375 RIP" to designate its effectiveness as a killer and to denote Rigby ImProved. The 338 Lapua is after all based on the external dimensions of the 416 Rigby, shortened, necked down and more heavily constructed. Good idea!

------------------
Good huntin' and shootin',
RAB

one of us
posted Hide Post
Kilgore, all one needs is a reamer and a set of loading dies. I have a 416 Lapua round sitting on the loading bench, it will feed out of a Classic M70 action. Pretty easy conversion, especially if one uses a large action like the CZ550.

[This message has been edited by John Ricks (edited 06-24-2001).]

Posts: 1055 | Location: Real Sasquatch Country!!! I Seen 'Em! | Registered: 16 January 2001Reply With Quote
<AKI>
posted