Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

penetration test Login/Join

<Aaron Rust>
posted
I have a .500 black powder express. It shoots a 400 grain Jacketed bullet or a 405 grain paper patched lead bullet at 1950 FPS.... Because of it being a light for caliber bullet many say it will not penetrate well... I have no experience except the lead bullet through a whitetails neck, just as it goes into the shoulder.. For sure it went through and the whitetail hadn't read up on its balistic charts. My question, What will be my best way to conduct penetration test? I will be back in America for a year starting in June at which time I will do some load development and hunting. And how well do you think it will penetrate?..... I think I'll get several doe permits and try to get one facing me and see how far it will go... That would be a OK test.
Aaron

Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
I'd say shy of thick skinned dangerous game, it'll penetrate just fine! Folks are shooting those bullets at 1500 fps from revolvers, and claiming them to be killers of mythical proportions. Perhaps those claims are just a wee bit overbloan, but I'd not be the least bit concerned using a 400 gr 50 cal pill at 1950 fps on any soft bodied critter, elk, moose, no problamo!

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
That sounds like a fine North American game cartridge, being about like a supercharged 45-70.

Posts: 18352 | Location: Salt Lake City, Utah USA | Registered: 20 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The simplest way to do penetration tests is to use some widely available thick books, like old phone books. Stack them back to back inside a cardboard box of, say 18" depth. This is not a perfect test medium, but will show you the RELATIVE penetration of various loads/bullets compared to one another.

You'll be surprised at the mythology that your tests will dispell.