Notify
Tools

maximum distance for geese
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of beretta96
posted
Hi guys,

I've read different opinions on this subject, and wanted to know what the general concensus here would be. I am new to goose hunting and own a Winchester Super X3 3.5". I generally use #2 Federal High Density loads for geese and #4 Kent High Speed Steel for ducks. I just ordered a Light Modifed Spectrum Ported Briley choke for my shotgun.

In your opinions, what would be the maximum distance where my shot would be effective on geese?

I shoot skeet, and sporting clays twice a week and I average 23 on skeet and 74 on clays. I am confident in my ability to shoot, I just don't know the lethality of the shot at distance.

Thanks for you input,

Posts: 263 | Location: ontario, canada | Registered: 10 January 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I once watched a TV program where they were shooting snow geese at 90 yds !! Eeker Give me a break !I spoke to a Federal man who had seen this and he agreed it was ridiculous. I had thought that my Federal BB steel 3" was good for 25-45 yds and he agreed completely.With all the different types of shot available make sure you pattern the loads ,they can be surprizing. My Benelli with MOD choke gave extra, extra full choke !My hunting from a canoe ended up with head shots and that worked fine.What ever you use a realistic range is going to be ~ 25-45 yds ,more is wishfull thinking.

one of us
Picture of Fallow Buck
posted Hide Post
What Mete said.

Even still 45yds with a 12bore on geese will result in a fair proportion of pricked birds I would think unless the shooter is gettig practice at these ranges consistently.

I like them at the lower end of the estimate. Ducks at 45yds, no problem though!!

Rgds,
FB

Posts: 4096 | Location: London | Registered: 03 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post