THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SHOTGUN FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Shotgunning    Reloading shotshells cheap - Geese to casual clays
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading shotshells cheap - Geese to casual clays
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of todbartell
posted
After shooting some clay pigeons for the 1st time today, I'm thinking of getting a shotshell reloader for my BPS 3" 12 ga. I've been loading rifle shells for 7 or 8 years now, so am aware of the procedure. Shooting clays, that is fun!

I have a few questions:

-I want a in-expensive, but well built single stage press, the MEC 600 JR. looks pretty good. I want to load 3"-3.5" shells(my friend has a Nova 3.5"), steel and lead. Is this a good set-up? Please tell me a bit about the steps involved with this press. Do you have to induvidually weigh the shot & powder? The only press I've seen was a red MEC, and all you had to do was put an empty hull in, prime(I think), add wad, then pull the handle. The shells rotated around to each step. Is this similar to the 600 JR?

-What type of empty hulls can be re-loaded? I have heard hi-brass is a no-no, why? Is there a difference between crimp types as well?

-What type of velocity can be achieved safely? Are we talking equaling factory numbers, or can handloads safely be "pumped" up a bit?

I'd like to do light, 1 1/8 oz. #8's or so for shooting clays, not huge amounts, just a box or two every couple weeks would tide me over. Heavy goose loads, like 3" 1 3/8 oz. steel BBB or T's would also be another load I'd like to try. Add 2 3/4 " 1 1/4 oz. #2's or #3's for ducks too. Extra time spent with a single stage is fine, that poses no problem to me. MEC says you can load 6-8 boxes per hour on the 600 JR anyway.

Any comments, tips, observations, and suggestions are much appreciated.