THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SHOTGUN FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Shotgunning    WHICH SLUGS FOR RIFLED CHOKE TUBES?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

WHICH SLUGS FOR RIFLED CHOKE TUBES?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
TO ALL,

Which make, weight, design, etc. slugs are you finding accurate in the following gun?

THE GUN; Remington 870 Magnum. 20" smooth bore. 'Cation' Extended rifled choke.

Thank you for your input.

Regards,

Sam Clemmons
eclemmons@hotmail.com

Posts: 702 | Location: Lenoir. N.C. | Registered: 18 September 2000Reply With Quote
<Dave McC>
posted
Regretfully, Sam, there's no easy pat answer. Two identical 870s with consecutive serial numbers right off the assembly line may do well with different slugs.

I've been putting slugs through various 870s for over 30 years. What I've found is that only range testing can show which slug will work best in a given shotgun.

One of my slug shooter 870s has a rifled choke tube in it. The best grouping slug right now is the KO Brenneke. Second place, the old Winchester Forster style 1 oz HP.

The other 870 I slug with likes the KO also. This is the first slug that both have "Liked" in over a decade of bench testing. This 870's second choice is the 1 1/4 oz Rottweil Brenneke.

Buyamessa 5 pack of diverse brands, stick to the Brenekkes and Forsters, no sabots. Take your anti-inflammatory of choice, use a wearable recoil pad, and grind out three shots groups until one slug shows superior. Buy lots of that one, preferably from the same lot.

The good news is there's no ineffective 12 gauge slugs.

HTH....

one of us
posted Hide Post