THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BIRD SHOOTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Bird Shooting    Re: .410 - Useful or useless?

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: .410 - Useful or useless?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Thanks for the replies gents,
All things considered, seems I'll end up sticking with the 12 guage. My current Brittany has done very well with conditioning to gunfire by obedience training outside the gun club (about 100m) and slowly bringing him closer in overtime. It's worked well so far. The .410 was an option that all things considering may not be such a good idea, one thing I definately don't want is the pup's first "real" retrieve being a wounded bird, and the crack of the smaller bores is sharper.
Cheers...
Con

Posts: 2198 | Location: Australia | Registered: 24 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post

Con,

I'm a professional trainer. You'd be far better off with a 28 ga. There are some fairly cheap ones available in the US. Not sure about Australia, of course. EAA comes to mind because I have one of their over unders for just the reasons that you mention. It takes a beating and I don't have to worry. I tried a 410. As was mentioned they do crack and they are hard to hit and kill with.

knobmtn

Posts: 221 | Location: central Pa. | Registered: 29 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Guys,