ACCURATERELOADING.COM MUZZLELOADING BIG GAME HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Muzzleloading Big Game Hunting    Recomendations please on buying a new smoke pole

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Recomendations please on buying a new smoke pole
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Woodmnctry
posted
Ok -- this is going to sound like a Newbie question --- I am in the mood for a new smoke pole. I am not really a novice as per say on Muzzleloaders - but apparently have just awakened from a considerable time warp as to the latest and greatest equipment (rifles, powder and bullets). I hunted extensively with a muzzleloader during the mid 70s and into the 80's -- half a dozen elk -- several deer and a bunch of antelope met their demise at my hands. Started with a TC 50 cal Hawken --tried a 54 Renegade -- thence a Knight in line in 54 cal. However, time flieth and I have been hunting with every thing else at hand from archery - pistol - high power - etc. Have a strong chance at chasing Moose this fall -- decided smoke pole might be a good plan. I am a Colorado hunter -- thus no sabots allowed - and I will be using the rifle mostly on the bigger critters such as elk, Bear and Moose. My last experience was using a 54 cal, which no longer seems to be the caliber of choice. When I was in the "know" as so to speak a 54 was the caliber of choice with a few even using 58's-- what the heck happened??-- I am guessing the introduction of the sabot has considerably changed the whole muzzleloader industry. However as I previously noted - sabots are a no-no in Colorado. So—need your recommendations for rifle and associated bullets etc. for the bigger critters
Thanks
G

OMG!-- my bow is "pull-push feed" - how dreadfully embarrasing!!!!!

Posts: 926 | Location: 8K Ft in Colorado | Registered: 10 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post