Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

An Ethical question Login/Join 
one of us
posted
I have been letting a freind cut fire wood for free for about 5 years.

Last fall the both of us went and cut about 4 pick loads total in 4 foot sections and laided them along the road to be picked up this spring.

I went out cut them into 16 inch sections this spring and hauled them to my place.

Today I called him up and told him lets go cut some fire wood and haul it to your place. I told him we well cut that tree and that tree.

He said where is the wood we cut last fall I told him I cut it up and hauled it home.

He got all mad at me because I took the wood from last fall.

Was I in the wrong for finshing cutting it then offering to help him cut more for himself.

Posts: 19393 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Do you feel like you were wrong? Your wood. And you offered to help him with some more, not in my book. Some people just don't know how to reciprocate when you do them favors. "Entitlement" comes to mind.

Posts: 4214 | Location: Southern Colorado | Registered: 09 October 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
In additional to entitlement, which seems to be a good descriptor in this case, I would add ungrateful.

I own some woodland, and have given away undesirable for harvest trees (but good firewood) on occasion.

Each and every recipient has later offered free farm labor to help out here.

You are certainly within all reasonable rights on this one.

Support the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation

Posts: 272 | Location: Central KY | Registered: 01 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, I don't think it is quite as cut and dried (pun intended) as others seem to think. Certainly you were within your rights to do what you did, but being within your legal rights is not always the only answer.