Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Caution buying a gun from Cabelas Login/Join 
One of Us
posted
I didn't know where to put this but I'm in the middle of a Cabelas dispute all should know about. I am a PA resident and bought a gun from Cabela's Thorton CO location. I had it shipped to my local dealer and it arrived today. The gun was considerably over described and upon a closer look I decided not to keep it. The Gun Library at Thorton told me the gun could be "bought back" at the purchase price but there would be no refund of the sales tax since "PA had already been paid". I was told this is Cabela's policy. I did not object to paying the round trip shipping cost since to me that is the cost of the risk buying something sight unseen. This sales tax deal stuns me. I will not spend another penny with Cabelas.

Posts: 3073 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA | Registered: 11 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Hmmm if you buy at the store and return they reimburse tax.

So they are saying the title passed to you even if you refused it at your FFL. They call it a "buy back" not return.

Good too know. Poor business in my book.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Mike_Dettorre
posted Hide Post
That's incorrect. Sales tax is not paid by Cabela's or any store at the transaction level it is paid at the total sales level. Escalate it within Cabela's.

Store's advertise all the time "no sales tax weekend"; they are simply reducing the total reported sales by the reciprocal of the sales tax.

Mike

What I have learned on AR, since 2001:
1. The proper answer to: Where is the best place in town to get a steak dinner? is…You should go to Mel's Diner and get the fried chicken.
2. Big game animals can tell the difference between .015 of an inch in diameter, 15 grains of bullet weight, and 150 fps.