THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM MISCELLANEOUS FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Miscellaneous Topics    an 'adventure' in the eastern Smoky Mountains

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

an 'adventure' in the eastern Smoky Mountains Login/Join 
one of us
Picture of Matt Norman
posted
Over Thanksgiving my wife and I were making our way from Michigan to visit my son at Ft. Bragg N.C. We overnighted in Knoxville and knowing that a section of I-40 was closed due to a rock slide at the TN/NC border I studied a map and discovered 'Route 32' off of Route 321 near Cosby. It look relatively straight on the map and I figured we'd have a scenic drive around the road closure and pick up I-40 again on the NC side. Yeah,....right.

'Adventure'....a screw up you survive. Oh Lord, it was indeed 'scenic'. We drove ~40 miles of gravel roads that our rental car probably wasn't suppose to see. Don't know how many times we crossed the Appalachian trail. Took various forks and went through Waterville and eventually made our way to Cove Creek. I've never seen switchbacks like that and I've had considerable experience over the western USA mountains (Wyoming, Colorado, and Arizona). Saw most of Mt. Sterling and the name 'Cataloochee' numberous times. Pretty part of the world but my wife got mighty pissed at me for refusing to 'go back'. Encountered a couple other vehicles during the three + hours we were back there including a local that we stopped and chatted with. He got a real chuckle out of my attempt at a short cut.

Any A-R folks familiar with this area? We encountered an entrance road to a valley with some very extensive brick 'turrents' on either side that piqued my curiousity. Anybody know their history? This would have been on the very eastern end of the Smoky Mountain National Park near the NC and TN border.