Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hunting Camp Makes It Taste Better Login/Join 
one of us
posted
Have you noticed how food you would throw rocks at, or get a divorce over, if served at home, tastes great when you are in a hunting camp.

I had rusk on my first hunt in Africa. I thought it was the best stuff I ever dipped in a glass of milk. I had a South African friend make me some years later in Australia. She did a fine job, but it wasn't the same.

I used to cook stuff when hunting, and I was a lousy cook, but when it was "eat it, or eat nothing", it tasted great. I still can't reproduce bacon at home like over an open fire, on a cold morning in the mountains.

Posts: 13780 | Location: Texas | Registered: 10 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of JBrown
posted Hide Post
The best cup of coffee I have ever had: A handful of grounds boiled in an aluminum pot next to a campfire while backpacking with my grandfather.

The best fish: an rainbow trout cooked in bacon grease over a campfire next to the stream I pulled it from. Again, backpacking with my grandfather.

Jason

"You're not hard-core, unless you live hard-core."

Hunting in Africa is an adventure. The number of variables involved preclude the possibility of a perfect hunt. Some problems will arise. How you decide to handle them will determine how much you enjoy your hunt.

Just tell yourself, "it's all part of the adventure." Remember, if Robert Ruark had gotten upset every time problems with Harry
Selby's flat bed truck delayed the safari, Horn of the Hunter would have read like an indictment of Selby. But Ruark rolled with the punches, poured some gin, and enjoyed the adventure.

-Jason Brown

Posts: 6834 | Location: Nome, Alaska(formerly SW Wyoming) | Registered: 22 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Skinner.
posted Hide Post