Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

mountain lion taxidermy
 Login/Join

posted
I'm heading to Arizona for a mountain lion hunt in January, and was wondering if anyone had anyone they could reccomend as a taxidermist in Arizona. Don't know if I want to chance flying the hide home (back to Indiana) and have it lost, destroyed etc. I'm toying with the idea of leaving it with someone in Arizona. Aall this is pending that I actual ama able to harvest a cat! Thanks

One of Us
Picture of oakman
posted Hide Post
Be real careful, not all taxidermist are created equal with cats,your not buying a car,your buying their talnet, check out their work and make sure they have seen some cats when they were under the tree . Its a very physical hunt,I have been running cats for the last 15 yrs with my hounds and treed over a hundred of them,some are up within an hour where some go 3 days. All bets are off when you release the dogs,your there until you see them at the tree. Its very easy to ship your trophy home or to a reliable full time studio. Call or email if you would like some advise. Good Luck fishing

www.african-montana-taxidermy.com

life member of SCI
life member of NRA
NTA
Master Scorer SCI
Scorer for Rowland Ward

www.african-montana-taxidermy.com

Posts: 241 | Location: Montana USA | Registered: 01 September 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Outdoor Writer
posted Hide Post
Mad Dog,

If you're hunting with Randy, there's a taxidermist in Camp Verde who has been doing all my work for years. His name is Marc Plunkett and his business is Wildlife Creations.

BUT..be forewarned... he takes a long time to get work done because he's forever loaded with work. So if you contact him, be sure to discuss that aspect. That said, he does fine work. Here's a bear he did for me a couple years ago.

Tony Mandile - Author "How To Hunt Coues Deer"

Posts: 3269 | Location: Glendale, AZ | Registered: 28 July 2003Reply With Quote
<The Artistry of Wildlife>
posted