New
Find
Notify
Tools

Got the taxidermy kit
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
The kit contains: hide paste, dry perservative, puffed borax, skin prep degreasing detergent (looks like Dawn), some clay and ear inserts and wire for the tail and glass eyes. So now i have all these chemicals, but there isn't any instructions. When i ordered the kit i asked and they said instructions were included. They did include instructions on how to put the hide on. I just don't have a clue how to prepare the hide or what sequence to use the chemicals.

My limited experience with kits would be something like a home permanent kit which has detailed instructios. Even hamburger helper has instructions.

So, i called and Wasco Supply and explained i bought the stuff in kit form because i'm a beginner. I was expecting some step by step directions. Kit form should = easy... like paint by number. Their customer service is supposed to check on it and get back to me after the taxidermist gets back from lunch. I think i'll have lunch too....how about...Lipton cup of soup? Walaa! it has directions.

aim small, hit small

Posts: 1522 | Location: WV | Registered: 24 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grafton
posted Hide Post
Before you start this project you may want to by an instructional book or video to go along with any instructions the kit may have. You will need some knowledge of basic taxidermy methods and skinning before you do anything. You will not be able to mount the fox in a step by step manner if you are not familiar with every step BEFORE you start. If you are serious about putting this fox together, please buy a book such as the Breakthrough mammal taxidermy manual. Also check out taxidermy.net as you can get any questions you have answered there. I wish you the best of luck with this project but please understand that there is a lot to this, a bit more than paint by number!

SAFARI ARTS TAXIDERMY
http://www.safariarts.net/