New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: 7.62X39 for White Tails
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have no doiubt the 7.62 will kill a deer , but myself , I would just as soon use a 30/30 with a good 170 gr load . Or if you prefer to stick with a bolt gun , there are scads of better cartridges chambered in short actions ........

Posts: 1660 | Location: Gary , SD | Registered: 05 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bill Mc
posted Hide Post
Pecos, that's a terrible thing to say, "7.62x39 for deer hunting"

I have been lamenting for several months about getting a CZ527 Carbine in 7.62x39 and everytime I convince myself I don't need it, someone like you destroys all my logic against it.

Kinda like an alcholic falling off the wagon.

Posts: 1450 | Location: North Georgia | Registered: 16 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
SD - Your point is well taken, but the issue here is not about what is the BEST deer cartridge. In fact, a rifle I've had tremendous success hunting whitetail with is a Marlin 357 mag! Hardly anyone's choice as the ideal deer caliber. But 8 out of 9 deer never took a step and the 9th only managed about 15 yds. It don't get much better than that.

A serious hunter knows his weapon, its limitations AND his own abilities as well. And then he hunts within this envelope. But we both know that.

Anyway, that is how I would approach hunting with the 7.62X39, i.e. just about like I would with a 30/30.

And then it suddenly struck me last night that one of my FEW claims to fame was in designing my own wildcat many years ago. Guess what it was.

It was a 7.62X38. Yes, 38mm. In reality it was the 300 Savage case shorted to 1.5". And about as close as a person could get to this Russian cartridge. I suspect case capacities are identical.

Funny how I've come full circle in my life.

What I can tell you about my little wildcat...which I sold long ago...was that as fate would have it, I killed the largest mule deer of my life with it.