New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mulie and Spike bull
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Linda killed her buck the second weekend of the season (Oct. 23) . She made a nice 150 yard shot with her Kimber 308 and 165gr. Partitions. It was a long drag to the truck but we were back home and eating the tenderloins for dinner.

This past weekend we headed up to the nearby national forest and I killed this spike bull. Eastern Washington is mostly spike bull, unless you draw a quality tag which I have been putting in for the last 14 years. I ranged him across the canyon at 411 yards. Shooting my Mod 70 30-06 with 180 gr. Partition hand loads across my pack, I shot 6 times and hit him 3, all in the shoulder area. Any would have been fatal, but I always keep shooting until they are down. It was really good shooting for me and boy was it fun.

Linda’s 2 brothers were along. They both archery hunt and came up just to help out in a situation like this. A 300 hundred yard pack to the top of the ridge and then at least 2 miles to the truck at the gate of the forest service road. Everything was in camp by dark and we were eating back strap steaks for dinner. There isn’t a meal in this world that I enjoy any more than that.

We use a Cabela’s bighorn tent on these hunts with a small stove. One thing that worked out great, that I had never done before was to just take along 20 presto logs. I put them in a Tupperware tote and boy was it nice. No chainsaws, splitting mauls or gas cans. 2 or 3 would heat all night. It worked great on these short hunts and from the ice and fuel store, they were only $1.10 each.

"If you are not working to protect hunting, then you are working to destroy it". Fred Bear

Posts: 444 | Location: WA. State | Registered: 06 November 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Sevenxbjt
posted Hide Post
Congrats to you both. Looks like you will have a full freezer.

One of Us
Picture of jwp475
posted Hide Post
Congradulations to you and Linda for a successful hunt beer