THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    merino wool underlayer vs fleece or polyester?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

merino wool underlayer vs fleece or polyester?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
looking for any feedback based on a three to five day backwoods test based on experience.
backpack hunters.

thanks
jameister

Posts: 902 | Location: Denver Colderado | Registered: 13 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of jackfish
posted Hide Post
My experience is with polypropolene (Helly Hansen), polyester of various kinds (Thermax, Thermastat, Comfortrel) and merino wool (Stanfields Superwash, Windsor Wear and Ullfrotté Original). Polypropolene is the least desirable, especially the old stuff. It retains body odor and pills up into hard little lumps. I have no experience with any polypropolene of current manufacture (so those problems may no longer exist), only because polyester and merino wool work so well. For extended wear with periods of extreme exertion, quality polyester fiber and merino wool both work well. Polyester dries quicker, but merino wool is warmer overall. I feel more comfortable overall either with a lightweight polyester base and a merino wool mid layer or with just merino wool. It is probably more important to layer and remove those layers as exertion (and perspiration) increases and use a shell that breaks the wind yet breathes than whether synthetic or merino wool are used.

You learn something new everyday whether you want to or not.

Posts: 1080 | Location: Western Wisconsin | Registered: 21 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of talentrec
posted Hide Post
I've always found that merino wool retains it's loft and insulation value better than synthetics, especially if end up wearing it for 2-3 days straight.

Pete