Find
Notify
Tools

A terrific deer hunt
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted
Just got back from this year's deer hunt and what a great trip it was. Here's how it went:

I've been hunting this public land area for 4 years and had a good idea where I might find a decent buck. I started into the field before sun-up and was a little over a mile from the road when the sun started to break the horizon. I was headed East, climbing a ridge through moderate PJ (Pinon-Juniper) trying to move quickly but not too loudly. This area gets hunted pretty hard by hoards of road-hunters so I wasn't too concerned about spooking deer on slopes in view of the road.

When I got close to the crest I eased up slowly, glassing the hillsides in front of me carefully. I found a comfortable place to sit at the base of a fair-sized Juniper and began taking a close look at the canyons below me. After about 10 minutes of glassing the flash of antlers in the low-angle early morning sunshine caught my eye. There below me were five bucks feeding on a saddle between two small finger ridges coming off the main ridge I was on. I upgraded my optics this year to a set of Geovid 10x42 binoculars which told me the deer were a little over 425 yards away. Two of the five were pretty nice 10 and 8-points, and two of the other three were legal (minimum of 3 points on at least one side) and the last one was a fork-horn.