New
Find
Notify
Tools

Northern PA Blackbear
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Anyone familiar with black bear hunting in northern PA? Mckean and Potter county specifically unless there are other areas I should be looking at?

I thinking I am going to make the trip down there for for both archery and regular season in the fall and I'm looking for any advice for WMUs 3A, 2G, or 2H.

Posts: 294 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 17 June 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm a PA resident and occasional bear hunter (when vacation days allow). PA doesn't allow baiting, and archery season doesn't coincide with archery deer. This means archery is a rather low-odds endeavor.

I hunt in Jefferson County (100 miles south and west of your intended area). The hunting strategies are similar. The best odds are by driving the nastiest rhododendron, laurel, and grape vine thickets (especially if those are under an oak canopy in a good acorn year). I shot my bear in 2001 in a 4-person group doing drives in that type of terrain. Larger groups (up to 25 by state law) tend to have the most success because they can cover the most terrain. It's usually very hilly and physically demanding.

The best odds as a solo hunter would probably be from a treestand near a food source (acorns, beech nuts, or standing corn) and thick cover.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info. I'm thinking of heading down a few times this summer to do some scouting and see if I can locate some food source areas for this fall.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Wishing you luck in your hunting here in PA. There is a very good population of black bears in several of the counties in north central PA. Potter and Tioga counties have more bears than they ever have had. Pike County in the northeastern corner of the state is always good. Here is a link for a news article that may have some useful information for you:

http://www.outdoorhub.com/news...fth-largest-history/