New
Find
Notify
Tools

Antelope Bullet ??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Got lucky and drew an antelope tag for WY. Last time I hunted antelope in WY was 3 years ago. Shots were no more than 200 yds. I did get a small one. He was taken with a 165 Gr. Nosler Ballistic Tip in 30-06. Also I had some 150 Gr. Has anyone used 125 Gr. in 30-06 on an antelope hunt? I have heard that this Gr. bullet can become unstable the futher it goes down range.
Thanks for any help.
Mauser K98

Posts: 193 | Location: Tennessee | Registered: 01 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have no "on game" experiences with the 125gr bullet but I wonder what sort of gain if any you are expecting to make with it over a 150 or 165??? I would think the carry up of the heavier bullets would more than compensate for any velocity gain. You certainly won't need a premium bullet (read hard). Any standard bullet that your rifle shoots well will get the job done.

[ 07-29-2003, 18:29: Message edited by: beemanbeme ]

Posts: 2037 | Location: frametown west virginia usa | Registered: 14 October 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've used the bullet more than enough on game and predators and varmints. In my 06 with R15 it would motor at 3200.

Needless to say this would do just fine.

Personally from my experience unless you felt compelled to shoot at over 400 this will work just fine.

So use it..

"GET TO THE HILL"

Dog

Posts: 879 | Location: Bozeman,Montana USA | Registered: 31 October 2001Reply With Quote
<Savage 99>
posted
It's much easier to figure drop rather than wind drift. Thus I would go with the one with the least drift. It gets and stays pretty windy out there!

Download "Pointblank" at www.huntingnut.com and play with the numbers.

one of us
posted Hide Post