THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    Need factory ammo suggestions- 338 RUM and Grizzly

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need factory ammo suggestions- 338 RUM and Grizzly
 Login/Join

Picture of Mark
posted
Hi all. Little brother is off to Alaska in a couple of weeks with his newly muzzle braked 338 RUM. This kinda happened rather fast and we aren't set up for reloading it or load development at this late hour, so we're looking for factory ammo choices. My browsing found that federal makes a 210 gr Nosler partition, 225 gr accubond, and a 250gr trophy bonded bear claw. I've never used bear claws before but have had great luck with partitions, but never on a grizzly so I'm leaning towards the 250 gr bear claws. Remington makes one with the 250 A-frame too.

Anyone have more informed opinions or experiences?

Also, there is moose and wolf on the list too, I suggested 180 gr for the wolf but he just wants to use one bullet, which makes sense to me too.

TIA Mark

Posts: 7763 | Location: Between 2 rivers, Middle USA | Registered: 19 August 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Mark:

I'd have to agree with Russ on this one. Of the bulllet weights listed, I too would go with the heaviest available bullet. You never know if the chips will fall & I'd want the heaviest, quality bullet I could find. One of the things I try to look at and seldom see taken into account is momentum. I could give up a bit of accuracy on a heavier bullet in exchange for increased momentum.