New
Find
Notify
Tools

6MM/243 for medium game
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
If we could avoid the hate retoric I would like to hear some stories about using cartridges of the 243 ilk on medium game. My interest is bullet performance and on game performance. I have some experience with various bullets and have killed deer, antelope and feral hogs with both the 6MM Remington and the 243. Never lost anything hit with either.

Posts: 2435 | Location: North Texas | Registered: 29 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
I have killed several deer with a .243 in my younger years and had great success with 100 grain Sierras and 90 grain ballistic tips

Todays bullet offerings from Barnes and Nosler Accubonds should make for an even better deer killer

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
My first 6MM was a model 788 and the only factory load I could get for it at the time were boxed as the 244 Remington and held 80 gr. bullets. Topped with a 4X Weaver I dropped a bunch of deer with it, all hit in the ribs at ranges out to 250 yards. Some of the bullets exited but all provided lots of internal damage, impressive even.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
My son shoots a .243 and has taken kudu, pronghorn, reedbok, springbok, whitetailed deer with it.

He shoots 85 gr TSX bullets.

Posts: 10372 | Location: Texas... time to secede!! | Registered: 12 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I along with many other deer stalker a in the UK use the 243 on all deer species from small Roe does to large Red Stags. Put a well constructed 100gn 243 bullet just behind the shoulder for a heart / lung shot and they don't go far. I have also used the 25-06, 7x64, 270 and don't really notice much difference.