New
Find
Notify
Tools

GPS for Christmas but which one?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I plan to ask Santa for a GPS for Christmas but I have zero experience with a GPS. I plan to use this for hunting and nothing more. I want the ability to note areas when hopefully I find that elusive “honey-hole”. As well as help me to keep my bearings and return to camp. When looking at the Cabela’s and Bass Pro catalogs it seems that these GPS have so much more than these basic functions. I don’t want to ask for a unit with features that I would never ever use. So which one do you think I should get? Thanks for your advice.

C-ROY

Posts: 259 | Location: Carolina | Registered: 11 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of jackfish
posted Hide Post
If you want mapping capabilities then the Magellan Sportrak Pro GPS, Magellan Meridian Gold, Garmin eTrex Legend, or Garmin eTrex Vista are all good units with enough memory (some must be upgraded) to upload a whole state map. I think the Garmin's have more up to date maps. If you just want navigational capabilities then there are many simple units to choose from. I am a geographer, cartographer and use GIS so am drawn to the mapping units. I have the Megellan Meridian GPS with an added 32 MB of memory. This version was discontinued I believe because people figured out they could get the cheaper unit, upgrade the memory and have essentially a Meridian Gold for less money.

My suggestion: Garmin eTrex Vista or Megellan Meridian Gold.

Buy at the GPS Store and save. The GPS Store GPS unit listing

[ 10-21-2003, 18:23: Message edited by: jackfish ]

Posts: 1080 | Location: Western Wisconsin | Registered: 21 May 2002Reply With Quote
<GlennB>
posted
Just bought a Garmin 76s. Waterproof, floats, and easy to use.

one of us
posted Hide Post