New
Find
Notify
Tools

My greeting to all of you
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to this forum. I friend turned me onto it and I spent a few weeks just quietly observing it before deciding to join in. Really looking forward to future discussions with all of you and the usual banter and trading of tips and information.

A little about me:

Born and raised in the west but have not actually lived there in some time. I've kind of been doing the gypsy thing and bouncing around the country. A few years here, a few years there. Seems like I can't get over the urge to wander and see what lies beyond the horizon.

I'm a veteran but have put that particular phase of my life behind me. Married to an incredible woman who is hinting that since we are both getting ready to turn 50 it may be time to set up in a place for good. She is usually smarter than I am so this is most likely a good idea. We just haven't decided where to do it yet. Currently We're on the east coast but I seriously doubt that this will be where I hang my hat until the end of my days.

I enjoy all aspects of hunting and fishing. There was a time when I lived and breathed elk hunting but the hills are getting harder to climb on these old knees. I'd like to take one more good bull but it is hardly the driving factor it once was. The last decade or so I've been chasing whitetails, mostly for meat. Antlers mean a lot less than they used to and I'm content tagging a doe for meat these days. I've done both Africa and Canada, but am not sure if there is anymore of that in my future. But then, you never know do you?

Have a good day.

Pirate

Posts: 1039 | Location: Colorado by birth, Virginia by employment | Registered: 18 August 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Welcome

Posts: 2141 | Location: enjoying my freedom in wyoming | Registered: 13 January 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted Hide Post
Welcome aboard Matey.

Have gun- Will travel