Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes XLC vs. Failsafe
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Brad
posted
I have limited experience with these two (only Mulies with both... all died), but I do have a few observations comparing .308" 180 grainer's...

First, the XLC's have a smaller diameter "hole" at the tip to facilitate expansion than the FS. The XLC hole is .050" vs. the FS's .065" hole... that doesn't sound like much, but the FS's is noticeably bigger. Since this type of bullet relies on this air cavity to create expansion, it DOES stand to reason that the bigger hole would be more reliable.

The XLC measures 1.349" OAL. The FS measures 1.294" OAL... based on the OAL and the ogive shape, the FS will allow more powder room for a seated bullet with a maximum charge of extruded powder like RL22 or H4350.

The XLC is claimed to give higher velocities (as much as 200 fps) with safe pressures as compared to standard bullets of equal weight... in two 30 cal rifles (308 Win & 300 WSM) I have found this to be pure BS.

I talked to a person on the Barnes shop floor a few years back... he told me they had QC difficulties with the copper tubing they use for X's... it often varied quite a bit in diameter.

I guess my bottom-line, gut-thought is the Barnes, while great in concept, is being mfg'd by a small outfit without the rescources to control their product from start to finsh whereas the FS is mfg'd by a more substantial CO. with more rescources and better control of the final product. The X, though, is avaliable in a wider range of cal's.

Which bullet do you prefer and why... what are your observation's and experience?

Brad

I'd like to hear your experience with either or both

one of us
Picture of Colorado Bob
posted Hide Post
My only experience has been with the Failsafe 180 grain in my 30/06. It was all over the target, the 5 shot group---I got was plate size. I gave up on them and went back to my pet "Hornady" load.