New
Find
Notify
Tools

elk hunt-Part 2-maybe
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I didn't do a part 1 by the way but this is really part 2.

Recap of part 1. Went on a cow elk hunt over the Thanksgiving holiday. I am a an elementary teacher so I do not get many opportunities to go on out of state hunts. I have hunted elk in the past and I dream about doing it more. Any way I researched a little and came up with a cow/calf season that runs through Dec. 21. I figure I Thanksgiving break will give me the longest time to try and hunt.

A simple plan. Load up the Subaru and go for it. Sleep in the "Sub," hunt hard and make some memories.

Well my wife who is quite wise thinks that is a dumb plan and suggests I ask my dad and son to go along and stay in a motel. It will be a great opportunity to spend some time, a three generation adventure. I caved and did her plan.

As soon as school dismissed on the Wed of before Thanksgiving I boogie home gather some last minute items and meet my dad and son. We are off, destination Worland, Wy.

We arrive around 9pm and soon my son was over the boring drive. The pool at the hotel was open for one more hour!

First morning we spot elk! Now I have never been here before. I studied maps and looked on Google earth and so I did not know exactly what I was getting into. they had received about a foot of snow the previous day and a half so the walking was tough. My dad and I decided to find an easier way to get to the elk and to make a long story short, by the time we messed around trying to find an"easier" way the elk were gone. I knew that one often only gets one chance and this may have been it. My son thought we were dumb for not going after them right away, I hate it when they are right.

This is where the elk were. just above the patch of trees.