Picture of Doc
posted
YEA!! WHAT HE SAID!!

THAT IS A BEAUTIFUL BUCK!!

one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
Quote:

i don't know about bullet failure, but i have never seen an exit hole that size in my life. to me (and probably ONLY me), that's too damn much.

Aaaa, c'mon. It ain't too big til you can stuff a nerf football in it.

Quote:

you can pretty much eat right up to the hole

uhhh, I just had a testosterone spike when I read that...what are we talking about again? Oh, the deer/bullets.

one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
Quote:

But, during that time, or any time since, I've never heard anyone mention blood-shot meat from an Arrow.

Any ideas on what caused it? Anyone???

Yep...I've been bowhunting since 1990. Most every deer has blood shot meat...I take that back. All of them have blood shot meat. Animals die from hemorrhage alone when hit with an arrow. Unlike a bullet where it is a combination of 1) shock, then 2)hemorrhage.

It is my opinion, that when the soft tissues are 'sliced' from the razor sharp broadhead, there is immediate increased blood flow to the area simply because of the increased loss of blood. Remember, when those deer are hit, they run, and when they run, there are working those intercostal muscles (rib muscles). When muscles are used at a higher rate than at rest, there is ALWAYS an increase in blood supply. It simply engorges the damaged tissue area. I've had to cut away much more meat from archery kills than from bullet kills.

Does that make sense?

one of us
Picture of Ivan
posted Hide Post
I think its interesting how no one can give a clear answer of if the bullet "failed" or not. We all have our own expectations of what a bullet is supposed to do I guess.