New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advice again. This time snow.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been getting constant advise here,rain,clothing,wind. Now we are in for the first snow and ice of the year, tomorrow. So what is my best bet? Go slowly into the brush or take the blind overlooking the swamp. Come to think of it...I don't have the foggiest idea of what a deer will do in the snow and ice.
Could I have some suggestions please.
Thanks!

one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, I've crossed a swamp covered in snow up to two feet in some places a few times over the last two weeks. There were NO deer tracks in the open areas, just moose. I found deer on the edges though, where the snow was less deep, and on the surrounding hills. The good thing with snow is that you can see where the action is, or has been. I would opt for a *very* slow hike in the areas in which you expect deer. A few paces, a good look around, a few more, look, etc. I find that I'm not good at it, too impatient, but everytime I beat the urge to "speed" I see some deer.

Good luck.

Frans

Posts: 1717 | Location: Alberta, Canada | Registered: 17 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Well hell, it don't snow here too often, but I did get to still hunt in both snow and ice in Ga. awhile back. It's a wonderful thing in snow, and it sucks on ice. I'd stalk very slowly in snow, find a blind or stand if you have ice on the ground. You can really find out how they move with snow on the ground.

Posts: 9647 | Location: Yankeetown, FL | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
It depends on how much and what you get.