New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: shark gun for my boat?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Do yourself a favor and leave the guns and bangsticks at the dock. I have been fishing for sharks for over 20 years and not once has one put his mouth on my boat. There have been times when I have had 35-40 sharks swimming around the boat at one time and never have I had on "attack the boat".
Save the guns for the woods more people get hurt on boats with guns than defend themselves agianst shark attacks.

Posts: 57 | Location: Long Island NY | Registered: 21 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I agree that if you are not going to fish for sharks, there is no reson to have a bang stick on board. I've never heard of a shark attacking a boat. People on boats have problems with sharks when they are fishing for them and don't have the proper equipment or the knowledge on how to land them safely.

Posts: 257 | Location: Torrance, Ca | Registered: 02 July 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Been living near and fishing out on the ocean all my life. Many of my friends make their living on same. I've never heard of a boat worthy of open sea fishing being attacked by a shark...unless the fishermen were foolhardy enough to bring one alive INTO the boat. Silly tourists...

As already mentioned you could bring a SS/Nickel coated firearm onboard if it makes you feel safer though I fail to see a need for it even when hooked.

Our choices are then either:
a) Cut the leader and let him go.
b) Drag 'n drown - With the shark still hooked bring it in close enough to the boat to throw a boat line around the tail. Pull the loop tight around the tail. Attach the boat line to a sturdy cleat. Cut the leader and drag the shark backwards and behind (big ones) or alongside (little ones) the boat. Drowns them in less than 30 minutes.

If it makes you feel better, you can administer a coup 'de grace (with said firearm or bangstick) before or after the dragging.