New
Find
Notify
Tools

Slower calibers and Barnes X bullets
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I read a lot of threads that promote X bullets for higher velocity rounds, 300 RUM, 7mm magnums, etc. What about X bullets in rounds like a 308 Win or 7 x 57. The 168 TSX shoots great in my 308 and I'm thinking this would be good from deer and sheep to moose. Thoughts and experiences? Would something like a Hornady Interbond be just as effective at these velocities? I've got no experience on game with either. I've been shooting Sierra bullets, and while I've had no failures, I'm looking to experiment with something different.

Posts: 178 | Location: Anchorage, AK | Registered: 07 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
JAB,
my take on your question:Barnes X bullets are often mentioned for high power rifles because they dont fragment at high speed = shorter distances like convential bullets do.So the bullets available for high speed rifles are limited if one recognizes this problem.
For medium power rifles the Barnes are fine - if your barrel likes them.I shot many BARNES in 30/06 .338W MAG and 300 RUM.If the rifle likes them they are super.For deer I think an old fashioned Hornady will be just as lethal.

sheephunter

Posts: 795 | Location: CA,,the promised land | Registered: 05 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of RMiller
posted Hide Post
I shot a moose with a 308 win and 165 XBT's. They gave good penetration and expanded nice. Range was 30-50 yards.

I shot it three times. Except for seeing hair come of the moose I couldn't tell I was even hitting it. I was used to smacking them with .338's.

Posts: 9823 | Location: Montana | Registered: 25 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Jab I've been shooting 150 gr X's in my .308 for about 5 yeaes now. I've never lost a deer shot with them and have never recovered a bullet either. They kill like lightning and most deer never go more than 50 yards. Rich