THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    Good News, Bad News, Bad Shot: 2003 season

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Good News, Bad News, Bad Shot: 2003 season
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
The good news:

I had not really thought about how many years I have been hunting until the question came up on this form a few months ago. I did some remembering and decided that I started hunting deer when I was 16. This last hunting season one of my older brothers joined my group for our annual elk and deer hunt in Colorado. One of my hunting buddies is married to his daughter, my niece and he joined us through an invitation from that side of the family. I have been avoiding taking my brother to Colorado for the last five years. I DID NOT want him in camp. He had a heart attack a few years ago and even here on the flatland, he will last a few seconds doing physical labor such as swinging a sledgehammer and then he�s finished. He lasted two days at 8,000 feet and then he had to leave for lower climes. He couldn�t catch his breath. Even walking to the outhouse drained him. I love my brother dearly, but I don�t want to see him die on a hunting trip. That�s why I didn�t take him with me in years past, even though he told me he wanted to go. Telling an older brother that he won�t cut it isn�t easy. I couldn�t do it, so I took the coward�s way out and just left early each year.

While he was in camp, we talked over old times around a campfire, hunts long past. During the conversation my brother mentioned loaning me a rifle when I was a kid just starting to hunt deer. That brought back a forgotten memories. I started hunting when I was 14, not 16. I bought my first rifle at age 16. Remembering that borrowed rifle gave me an additional 2 hunting seasons that I totally forgot.