New
Find
Notify
Tools

Binoculars
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Are the Zeiss 10X40 Classic's a real bargin at the prices that they are going for, around $700? I am looking for a good pair of binoculars in the 8 or 10 X 40-42 range. I have looked at Leica, Pentax, Kahels, Swarovski(SLC and EL), and Zeiss Victorys. I want to look at Nikon Venture XLs, when I can find a pair. What do you think? TTS

Posts: 84 | Location: Wisconsin | Registered: 18 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Andre Mertens
posted Hide Post
Having some facilities as a gun writer, I tend to change optics a lot, always striving for the latest and/or best. After an extensive field test in Austria and Sweden, I sold my Swarovski SLC to buy the new EL. IMHO, they're probably/arguably the best bino's available for the time being (NB.: this may change but, no doubt, I will then be able to report on the successor).

------------------
Andr�

Posts: 2420 | Location: Belgium | Registered: 25 August 2001Reply With Quote
<350RM>
posted
TTS,
I never used the 10X40, but I owned 8X30s classic, then Safaris, and recently went for the Sw 8,5X42.
Two of my buddies have been using their 10X40 for a while now, and they are really pleased with them. If you like the 10 power, the zeiss are a must...
olivier

<Terry P>
posted
I think the Zeiss are a real bargain. I have the 8X30 Leica and I am real happy with them. I like them for a general purpose binocular...locating game etc. However I have been thinking about the Zeiss 10X40 because of the price and the 10 power. For trophy hunting I think these would be nice.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Zeis 10x40's are great.I've used them from heavy bush to open country here and in Africa.They have never let me down and are more than worth the price I paid for them.
Richard
LET US PREY!

------------------
rlda07052

one of us
posted Hide Post