Find
Notify
Tools

Mule Deer Calls?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Longbob
posted
We are going on our first Mule deer hunt this weekend in the panhandle of Texas. I have never used calls before, but I have a couple of calls for deer. They seem to be for Whitetails, but I wondered if they work on Mule deer also. If not, what do you use?

Posts: 3512 | Location: Denton, TX | Registered: 01 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Where your hunting the best thing one can use is your legs...mule deer have larger ranges than whitetail and calling is for the most part ineffective...Thats a good heavily populated area, for the most part and you will get your deer if you can shoot at extended ranges or get lucky..Chunk rocks off into the canyons and shoot them comming out..Mule deer lie tight so hunt slow and do a lot of looking.

I have called in Mule deer many times with a wounded rabbet call at night while hunting coyotes and bobcats...Mostly they came to the bleating sound out of curiosity...I tried it during the day and it had the opposite effect and scared the hell out of them....

------------------
Ray Atkinson

ray@atkinsonhunting.com
atkinsonhunting.com

Posts: 42176 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MacD37
posted Hide Post