THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    Penetration: Velocity or Bullet Weight?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Penetration: Velocity or Bullet Weight?
 Login/Join

<9.3x62>
posted
While I am sure this has been hashed out many times, why not again?

Which is more inportant in penetration, velocity or bullet weight? If needed, break the question down into expanding versus non-expanding bullets.

I'm no physics expert, but my intuition tells me weight is more important (in the case of non expanding bullets) because it is a constant during terminal performance, whereas velocity erodes because of friction.

Anyway... your thoughts...

one of us
Picture of CDH
posted Hide Post
IMHO, both. The key is momentum, defined as the mass times the velocity. In other words, I feel that a non expanding .375 bullet of 200 grains and moving at 3000fps will penetrate the same as a .375 bullet of 400 grains moving at 1500 fps.

Obviously this assumes all other factors (diameter, expansion rate, etc.) are held constant, hardly an easy task in the real world!

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.

Posts: 1780 | Location: South Texas, U. S. A. | Registered: 22 January 2004Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
In expanding bullets, bullet construction is more imporant then bullet weight. An example would be say a 165 gr barnes X bullet in a 300 win mag that will outpenetrate a typical 180 gr cup/core bullet. The reason for this is the barnes will keep nearly all of it's weight in tact, while the heavier cup/core bullet will loose upwards of 50% of it's weight, so hence be much lighter.