Find
Notify
Tools

salt/mineral blocks = horn growth??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Gents,

I have access to a piece of Riverbottom that is two miles long with primo whitetail habitat all around. LOTS of deer but there are just so few bucks with any horn growth. Its not an age problem as they DO grow to maturity, but something is lacking. I know this may be a complex problem involving genetics,etc but as your typical modern American I'm looking for an easy, quick fix.

Would the mineral blocks sold at feed stores help?? They come in red or blue versus the standard white salt blocks. Any other ideas??

I have also thought of planting some clover that would come up prior to the alfalfa fields around this area. The problem with that is I would need a lot of clover as its a fairly large habitat.

FN in MT

Posts: 950 | Location: Cascade, Montana USA | Registered: 11 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert but all the fellows I talk to tell me access to protein is the key. Hence the clover, alfalfa, and beanfield riff.

Posts: 258 | Location: Baltimore, Maryland US of A | Registered: 01 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
with the use of deer protien blocks and several other comodities you can really enhance the horn size on Whitetail...Texas A&M can give you all the information you require.

Posts: 42138 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
In my area of NW Oklahoma, I have noticed that spring rainfall has more to do with horn growth than anything else. Of course, rainfall relates to how forage greens up and the protein content.

I have one deer feeder and as an experiment, put out a trace mineral block about fifteen yards away from it. I see little or no interest in the block by deer.

Of course, at about two bucks each, putting out a few blocks won't hurt anything.

Joe.

Posts: 1372 | Location: USA | Registered: 18 June 2000Reply With Quote
<leo>
posted