New
Find
Notify
Tools

Field Judging Bears
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have no experience judging the size or quality of Bears... never had the opportunity of hunting them or seen one in the wild.

I just may have a chance at a Black Bear when I head up to Alberta the end of September. Will primarily be hunting Whitetails, possibly a Muley, and Outfitter said Bears will still be out so I have Black Bear Tags as well.

I would appreciate any advice about field judging Black Bears...do not want to make a mistake...any tips are appreciate.

Thanks, jjs

Posts: 1999 | Location: Memphis, TN | Registered: 23 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of DennisHP
posted Hide Post
In my only successful experience in Alberta bear hunting, I found when you see a BIG bear, you'll know it. Having said that, look for short looking legs, small ears, and if close enough, a crease down the middle of the skull. Where are you going and with what outfitter?

Posts: 3931 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 27 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
People generally overestimate the weight of a black bear.A 6month old weighs about 50 lb [they start very small when born in January no more than 1 lb] 1 1/2 year old about 150 and 5 feet tall on hind legs.The top bears taken in PA in the last few years were over 800 !!But the average is perhaps 250-350.One large one living nearby we figured was 400 and that's a lot of bear.

one of us
posted Hide Post
jjs

Two dead giveaways on a small bear is that his legs will look long and his ears large. A big bear will have ears more on the side of his head and they will look small also a big bear will just look bulky.

Mark

MARK H. YOUNG
MARK'S EXCLUSIVE ADVENTURES
7094 Oakleigh Dr. Las Vegas, NV 89110
Office 702-848-1693
Cell, Whats App, Signal 307-250-1156 PREFERRED
E-mail markttc@msn.com
Check us out on https://www.facebook.com/pages...ures/627027353990716