New
Find
Notify
Tools

Deer Hunting Ballistics question...
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Help: I have been asked to give a talk on "Deer Hunting Ballistics". Now I am seldom short on "talk" when it come to rifles and bullets, but what can I talk about for an hour, just on Deer?

Please post any topics you think might be interesting.

Thanks

Remember, forgivness is easier to get than permission.

Posts: 3993 | Location: Hudsonville MI USA | Registered: 08 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert on the subject but after speaking publicly without being formally trained, I've found the best way to prepare is to know whom you are speaking to. What do they know? How technical do you need to be? Does geography play a part? Range? Climate? Hope it helps it helped me through coaching and other times I have had to speak publicly and I'm just a carpenter. Good Luck Chain

Windage and elevation, Mrs. Langdon, windage and elevation...

Posts: 944 | Location: michigan | Registered: 16 December 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 308Sako
posted Hide Post
Terry, Some good advice has already been given regards to approaching the specific audience. I think what you were getting at is, or could be best approached by a method which discusses the History of deer hunting as seen by the weapons used (Ballistics delievered.) As man has become more and more effective a hunter, his weapons have gone from spears to long range scoped rifles. So range to target, power delievered and rapidity of fire characterize some of these changes. Clearly the minimums for ethical harvest/killing power and shot placement shold be a strong portion of the discussion. Good luck.

Member NRA, SCI- Life #358 28+ years now!
DRSS, double owner-shooter since 1983, O/U .30-06 Browning Continental set.

Posts: 3611 | Location: LV NV | Registered: 22 October 2002Reply With Quote
Picture of Canuck
posted Hide Post
Matchkings...are they good for deer hunting?