THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    swift a frame vs trophy bonded bearclaws

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

swift a frame vs trophy bonded bearclaws
 Login/Join

<razorback>
posted
I am wanting to use my new 264 winmag on elk this season in open rifle season in colorado near meeker and can't decide on the bullet. I want the swift a frame 156grainers, but can't find where to get the bullets. the trophy's only come in 140grainers. I looked on midway, but can't find them. any help would be needed.

<FarRight>
posted
I looked for ya too but could only find Swifts available up to 140 grains as well. mI've posted the link to the .264 cal bullet selection in Midway, don't know if you've been there but it might be worth a look.
I have no experience with either of those bullets but based soley on reputation alone, would say they are both qualified elk bullets given proper shot placement.
Also, I am pretty sure that the Bear Claws are available only factory loaded from Federal. I could not find mention of a .264 Win Mag load on their site. Sorry to bust your bubble.. don't know if they have loads they don't list.
Another bullet I have no experience with but sounds like you should look into is the Barnes X-bullets. At any rate they have a higher BC so should make the best out of the trajectory available from you .264... hope this helps. Really not an area I have much experience in. Good luck.
http://www.midwayusa.com/online/prodsearch.exe/CategoryPage?PromotionID=0&CategoryID=7279&CurrentCategoryID=652+***+675+***+9016+***

http://www.federalcartridge.com/andex2.html

one of us
posted Hide Post