Find
Notify
Tools

stretching the .308win.
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Richard Wayne
posted
i, have been hunting moose here in ontario, for 33 yrs. and shot my share of moose, all 200 yds. and under. My question to any one who is up to speed on the .308, what is the best performing factory load i can purchase in 180 gr. The area i am hunting this year is going to be in logged out clearcut's, which are huge up here. My personal limit would be 300yds.And yes i know, i should buy a new 300 ultra, but that will have to wait till next year.(unless the .308 doe's it job) thank's guy's :Rick.

Posts: 224 | Location: ontario,canada | Registered: 14 July 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm kinda in the same situation. I'm very tempted to take the M7 .308 out for elk.

The bullet I was looking at was the 165 gr. Failsafe. But I have no experience with them, I've heard they are a deeply penetrating bullet without the hassles of the Barnes X.

Posts: 612 | Location: Atlanta, GA USA | Registered: 19 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of RMiller
posted Hide Post
I'll put 180 grain rem core-lokt ammo in my 308 win for moose this year. They seem to hold together well in the 308.
I shot my last moose with this 308 and 165 grain barnes X boatails. Plenty of penetration.

Posts: 9823 | Location: Montana | Registered: 25 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Richard Wayne
posted Hide Post
well, just did some homework on the ballistic's on the .308 and federal seem's to have quite a factory load , the federal load is no. p 308 g, shooting a nosler patition. quite impressive. compared to a 7mm. rem. mag. of same weight, it blow's it out of the water. I have used cor. loc's on moose, they are about the best iv'e used. used silver tip's, not impressed.(seperation)so maybe use these federal's , unless someone know's one better. best of luck up in alaska ,moose hunt'n. Rick.