Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Leupold vs. Zeiss
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to the more precise shooting game. I have hunted for years, and like most only got out my rifle during dear season. I now am getting more interested in the shooting sports, and am going to have a rifle built soon. I plan to build a 6.5-284 on a Remington 700 long action (I already have a doner rifle)with a Hart barrel and McMillan stock. I am planning to mount a 4.5-14 X 40mm/44mm scope in either Leupold VariX3 or Zeiss Conquest. The Leupold has an Adjustable Objective while the Zeiss has a side parallax adjustment (which I like). Does anyone have any expierience with these scopes, and which would you preferr? Any input on the entire rig will be appreciated -- ie. will the long action be a positive or a problem? What twist rate? Etc?
The gun will be used for Targets, Deer hunting, varmint shooting, and anything else I can do with it. It will not, however, be my only rifle.

posted Hide Post
Where is a good place to purchase either scope? I live near Stillwater, Oklahoma (home of the OSU Cowboys, but not far from the OU Sooners)

one of us
posted Hide Post
You might check out these folks for the Leupold.

http://www.shootersoasis.com/Catalog.htm

I've dealt with them several times and they are top notch.

Posts: 268 | Location: God's Country, East Tex. USA | Registered: 08 February 2002Reply With Quote
<phurley>
posted