New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best .45-70 Bullet for Big Game
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Looking for your recommendations on the best .45-70 bullet for big game. Can be cast or jacketed. Would like to know why you are recommending this bullet.

------------------
"The Constitution of the United States shall never be construed to prevent the people of the United States who are peaceable citizens from keeping their own arms." - Samuel Adams

Posts: 487 | Location: Central Texas | Registered: 07 December 2001Reply With Quote
<500 AHR>
posted
What are you shooting? Velocity is a rather important part of any bullet selection process so if you know what velocities envelope is that would be helpful also.

I have no experience with the 45-70, but I found that the 405 grain Remington flat point was an excellent killer in my 458 Win Mag for North American game. I loaded them to 2250 fps. Expansion was very good and "killing power" was also. If you are looking at a velocity envelope around 1950 to 2200 fps I would recommend the 405 Remington.

Todd E

<Daryl Elder>
posted
Having used the Nosler partition in my '06 and 9.3x64 for years, that is the bullet I will work up loads for in my 45-70 for bears, elk, and mooses; 300 gr. @ 2000fps should do the trick! Another good choice may be the Barnes-X, but I haven't found any yet in my redneck-of-the-woods.

[This message has been edited by Daryl Elder (edited 03-03-2002).]

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been using Remingtons 405 gr. flat point as well. It has done well so far. Punched a nice clean in and out hole on a large Alaska/Yukon moose @ 125 yards. The bullets are cheep to shoot too.

Daryl

Posts: 536 | Location: Whitehorse, Yukon | Registered: 28 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Woodleigh 45/70 405 gr flat point.

------------------

Posts: 7505 | Location: Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
<hunting1>
posted