Find
Notify
Tools

Boar Scopes
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Not a mis spelt.

Can our German friends (or indeed anyone else with nocturnal habits)throw some light [Big Grin] on scopes for observing and shooting boar under a moon.

My 9.3 currently wears a Swarovski 1.5-6x42 with a good heavy crosshair in a 4a configuration. Does this cut the mustard or is it really necessary to go to a 8x56 with/without illumination? If necessary I can go to a Zeiss with a no1 post reticle but illumination is a lot of dosh.

Posts: 2258 | Location: Bristol, England | Registered: 24 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fritz Kraut
posted Hide Post
Dear 1894,

I�m not German, nor do I hunt boar. However, I have some experience of hunting in the last light before night. Beaver is usually hunted in dusk or in the darkness, and having used a Zeiss/Jena 1,5-6x42, I would prefer a 8x56, as the smaller one isn�t quite efficient at the latest hour. The #1 reticle would be the best one, although the #4 also would work well.

Good optics are essential in boar hunting, as you must be able to distinguish between hog and sow. It�s rather bad ethics to shoot the sow away from the piglets. To avoid that, the scope must be good enough - go with the best 8x56 you can get.

Best regards,

Fritz

Posts: 846 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 19 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hallo 1894

Your question is the same as you would ask whether you have to use a 9,3 or is a 5,6 also ok. Both can work fine, but in critical situation the 9,3 gives a bit more power.

Normally the 42 Swarovsky can work ok as long as you have good moon and not to bad background and far distance. Especially the variable one is not too bad.

If you use a crosshair 4 or use 1 is as you are used to. Some prefer the 4, some 1. So a discussion about makes no sense. Use what you prefer and you are used to.