New
Find
Notify
Tools

What's the best standard bullet?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
In your opinion, what is the best standard, non-premium bullet? With premium bullets I mean bonded, partition or monolitic bullets (like barnes x)
My 2-3 candidates would be Lapua Mega or Speer Mag-Tip or Grand Slam.

Posts: 47 | Location: Norway | Registered: 24 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've been shooting all sorts of Hornadys for over 40 years. No complaints.

Posts: 499 | Location: San Antonio , Texas USA | Registered: 01 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of BigNate
posted Hide Post
I shoot lots of Sierra's and Hornady's in std velocity cartidges.
I have been loading 250gr. Woodleighs in my .338 WM and because I got a screaming deal on XLC's I've also bought and adopted them in a couple rifles. I'm in no way afraid to use standard bullets at std velocities. They work way better than all the bashing they take on the 'net and gun rags! Nate

Posts: 2376 | Location: Idaho Panhandle | Registered: 27 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
My bet is the Hornady Interlocks. I haven't had one failure in 20+ years.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12710 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of TOP_PREDATOR
posted Hide Post
Winchester power points,Hornady Interlocks

"Never in the field of human conflict
was so much owed by so many to so few." Sir Winston Churchill

Posts: 1881 | Location: Throughout the British Empire | Registered: 08 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of fusino
posted Hide Post
I have shot Speers for a long time and have not had a single problem.

--->Happiness is nothing but health and a poor memory<---Albert Schweitzer