Find
Notify
Tools

Reasons behind wounding?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Marterius
posted
What are the reasons behind wounding (or bad shots in general)? This question is mainly directed to you guides and professionals out there: You have seen many different hunters shooting good and bad shots. Would you say there are any common characteristics between those who kill and between those who fail? We all read about the need to practice shooting all the time and I say nothing against that, but is it really the only remedy for bad shots? Being a psychologist, I am very interested in the motivation to hunt and this question is trigged by that more general interest. So why, in your experience, do hunters shoot bad shots?

Now I understand that you might hesitate to post anything negative about clients and customers here, even if they can not be identified from your post. If you feel that you have information you want to share but hesitate to post in public, please send me a PM here or send a mail to: martin@psychology.se. I will of course guarantee your anonymity in that case.

Regards,
Martin

[also cross-posted in African Big Game Hunting]

-----------------------
A man can never have too much red wine, too many books, or too much ammunition. - R. Kipling

Posts: 2068 | Location: Goteborg, Sweden | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MrHawg
posted Hide Post
1. The same reasons football kickers miss 25 yard field goals with one second on the clock to win the super bowl.

2. Lack of skill/practice
3. Over confidence in their rifle... Resulting in long shots, or shots through cover, or shots at non lethal body parts.
4. Acts of God.

Posts: 244 | Location: Margaritaville | Registered: 08 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm not a guide but if time spent watching others at the range - especially during our gun club's "public deer rifle sight-in days" - is any indication the causes of poor field marksmanship include: