New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wild boar rifle
 Login/Join

<Dave Oliver>
posted
I am new to the hunting sports (better late than never at 41 yrs!) and have an opportunity to start out with wild boar in central California. Any recommendations for an appropriate rifle/load? This would then be used, later, for blacktail deer in the Sierras. Thanks for your help and advice! My lunatic friend uses a .375 H&H for the pigs, but I think that I might want to start out a bit lighter.
Dave

one of us
Picture of HunterJim
posted Hide Post
Dave,

I shot my last California piggee with a .308 Win using a Federal 150 grain factory load with Trophy Bonded bullet. Any similar "deer rifle" will work fine on the pigs and obviously will work well for the deer hunt later too.

There are so many pigs available that people use about anything you can think of to hunt them, but I think the .308 works just fine.

jim dodd

Posts: 4166 | Location: San Diego, CA USA | Registered: 14 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Dave,

I have seen pigs taken with everything from .22's to 10 gauge shotguns. I would be happy with anything over .22 caliber. Use what you have with good bullets and go have some fun!!

Posts: 331 | Location: DeBeque, Co. | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
<bigdog>
posted
Dave,

If I were in your position I would get the all around rifle for North America. The 30-06, it will work with pigs, deer, elk and Moose.

It is the jack of all trades when it comes to rifle calibers.

just my .02 worth

BD

<Safarischorsch>
posted
quote:
Originally posted by Taos:
Dave,

I have seen pigs taken with everything from .22's to 10 gauge shotguns. I would be happy with anything over .22 caliber. Use what you have with good bullets and go have some fun!!

An i�ve seen boars taking the hunter wounded by a 308win with SP bullet.
I would take at least a 3006 with Nosler partition or better a 9,3x62 with norma alaska sp.