New
Find
Notify
Tools

My First Aoudad
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I got my first aoudad this weekend. His live weight was estimated to be around 300lbs. His right horn is 28"; his left is 27". I got him at the West Kerr Ranch, which is located south of Junction, TX. He is going to look great on the wall.

PS. This is my first time trying to post pictures on this site; I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." Terry Pratchett.

Posts: 3517 | Location: Wyoming | Registered: 25 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Don't they have bodies and legs ???Give us some more info ,gu8n range etc. Confused

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I was stalking and spotted him in a clearing at about 150 yards. I shot him with a Kimber Montana .270wsm using 140gr Winchester Fail Safe ammo. He was quartering towards me and I tried to take out his front right shoulder, but I pulled the shot and it entered through his ribs and exited next to his testicles. He ran into the brush, so I waited about 20 minutes then went and looked for blood, when I found some I backed off for about another hour, then called the guide to bring the dog. He had only gone about 150 yards into the brush, but he was in a dry creek bed, and the buzzards were already on him (If you look in the picture you can see his left eye is missing), so I caped him where he lay and left the meat for the buzzards. I was pretty disappointed in having to leave the meat because I really wanted to try some. I guess that means I'll have to go again.

"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." Terry Pratchett.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
He'll still look good on the wall! Nice job.

Tim

People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.
George Orwell